NHL All-Star Game Captains Named

PITTSBURGH, PA - DECEMBER 31: Sidney Crosby #87 of the Pittsburgh Penguins celebrates an overtime goal scored by Evgeni Malkin #71 against the Montreal Canadiens at PPG PAINTS Arena on December 31, 2016 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. (Photo by Matt Kincaid/Getty Images)
Shop 2014 NHL Playoff gear at Fanatics.com!

The results are in the NHL All-Star Game captains have been named.

All-Star Game Captains Named

Connor McDavid will represent the Pacific Division, P. K. Subban the Central Division in the Western Conference. In the Eastern Conference, Sidney Crosby and Carey Price will lead the Metropolitan and Atlantic Divisions, respectively.

The four captains were selected through fan voting between December 1st and January 2nd.

For three of the fourcaptains this will be their first All-Star Game in the new 3-on-3 format. McDavid, Crosby and Price all missed last year’s game due to various injuries. It will be McDavid’s first All-Star Game of his career. Subban attended last year’s Game, representing his old team, the Montreal Canadians. He won the breakaway title that year.

For Subban, attending the All-Star weekend will be a race against time as he is currently on injured reserve.

The four All-Star Game teams will be made up of players from the four divisions. Each team will feature six forwards, 3 defensemen and two goalies.

The captain are taking over from John Tavares (who took over for Alex Ovechkin), Patrick Kane, Jaromir Jagr and fan favorite, John Scott, who lead the divisions last year.

The All-Star Game will be hosted by the Los Angeles Kings and played January 27-29. This will be the 62nd NHL All-Star Game. The Games will consist of the Skill Competition on Saturday, the All-Star Game on Sunday and the NHL100 announcement on Friday to celebrate the league’s 100th anniversary.

Main Photo:


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.