Broadcaster Joe Bowen and Writer Larry Brooks to be Honoured by The Hockey Hall of Fame

TORONTO, ON - OCTOBER 13: General view of the UFC 217 press conference with Michael Bisping, Dana White and Georges St-Pierre at the Hockey Hall of Fame on October 13, 2017 in Toronto, Canada. (Photo by Vaughn Ridley/Zuffa LLC/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images)

“Holy mackinaw!” Beloved Toronto Maple Leafs broadcaster Joe Bowen and long-time hockey writer Larry Brooks will be honoured by the Hockey Hall of Fame later this year.

Joe Bowen and Larry Brooks to be Honoured by Hockey Hall of Fame

Mr. Bowen will receive the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a hockey broadcaster. Brooks will receive the Elmer Ferguson Award for excellence in hockey journalism.

Bowen was selected by the NHL Broadcasters’ Association and Brooks was selected by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

The Rundown on Joe Bowen

Fans know Bowen for his trademark “HOLY MACKINAW!” and making the Leafs’ biggest moments bigger. Maple Leafs fans will always remember Bowen for his larger than life broadcasting skills that allow him to pain vivid pictures of the games for his eager listeners.

Not forgetting to mention, fans of the blue and white love to brag about how they opt to listen to Bowen’s TSN 1050 and FAN 590 radio calls of Leaf games rather than listening to the TV play-by-play announcers. Fans love his one liners for the masters of the meshed mansions.

The Rundown on Larry Brooks

Brooks has covered the New York Rangers for 22 straight seasons for the New York Post. Fans love his coverage of the Rangers. Brooks always goes out of the way to get the story for the fans. He also serves as the newspaper’s national NHL columnist and has written some popular columns for the Post. Brooks’ public and personal clashes with athletes over the years have kept things interesting for his readers.

“With the possible exception of broken teeth, nothing is more hockey than Larry Brooks,” Post editor-in-chief Steve Lynch said. “His coverage of the Rangers and the NHL is unparalleled, entertaining and informing Post readers for 32 years. His colleagues at The Post congratulate him on an honor well deserved.”

When will they get their awards?

They will receive their awards at the Hockey Hall of Fame NHL Media Awards luncheon on Nov. 12 as part of the Hall’s induction weekend.

The rest of the Hockey Hall of Fame’s Class of 2018 will be named June 26.

Main Photo:

Embed from Getty Images

Previous articleOttawa Senators Assistant GM Randy Lee Arrested
Next articleOHL Prospect Power Rankings for the 2018 NHL Draft: Final Rankings
Christian Holmes is a senior writer for Grandstand Central, as well as an editor for Last Word On Hockey. Holmesy, as he is known by his peers, works to facilitate intimate one-on-one conversations with some of the most interesting personalities in sports. Not to mention, Holmes does also have a keen eye for writing powerful and thought-provoking stories as proven by his story about his lifelong love affair with hockey being published in TSN Hockey Hockey Insider Bob McKenzie’s and sports writer Jim Lang’s new book entitled "Everyday Hockey Heroes: Inspirational Stories On and Off The Ice". If you’re looking for a good laugh or even to learn a thing or two about life, you can follow him on Twitter below.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.